5 Ways to Get Rid of Hirsutism

Let’s face, hirsutism is a pain in the ass. No matter how confident you are as a woman, male-pattern hair growth isn’t really helpful in building self-esteem, at least not for me, anyway. I’ve battled hirsutism since puberty plus the hairy genetics I’ve inherited. Not only do I have male pattern hair growth, but I also possess coarse dark hair on my arms, legs, hands, and feet. I’m practically a hobbit.

I don’t like it. So, I tried different ways of getting rid of it. And I believe that I have somewhat countered the effects of genetics and hirsutism through a couple different methods:

1) Adjust your nutrition: I changed my eating habits last year and that is when I finally saw a difference in hair growth. Every day I make sure that I get 3 servings of vegetables, 2 servings of fruit, 4 servings of protein, 2 servings of grains, and 1 serving of fat. Changing your eating habits can balance your hormones, and unruly hormones are at the heart of hirsutism. I also strongly recommend getting rid of food products that contain extra hormones (dairy in particular)…if you have hirsutism, your hormones are already taking a beating and ingesting even more is not going to help. There are other ways to get the calcium and protein that dairy contains (lactose-free products, soy, supplements). For my whey protein, I prefer to buy New Zealand whey, which comes from a herd of hormone-free cattle.

2) Exercise: Also another way to balance hormones and get healthy. Strength train three times a week and complete 5 cardio sessions a week.

3) Take Maca: The Maca Root is a natural way to balance hormones. I’ve been using it for almost six months now and I’m pleased with the results. I refuse to take synthetic medication so if something natural works, I say go for it.

4) Try Tea: I hear drinking Spearmint tea every day can help, but I’m still haven’t seen the results of this. For it to be affective, I think you need to drink the Organic stuff and have A LOT of it everyday (probably five cups)…I haven’t been that committed to it. But if anyone has had any positive results with it, I’d love to hear it.

5) Wax: Shaving only eliminates the end of the hair and bleaching doesn’t last (plus it contains so many chemicals!) I’ve been waxing my upper lip, chin, eyebrows, and arms regularly for less than a year and already I have seen dramatic results. My arm hair is just an unfortunate genetic inheritance but it is less coarse and has thinned out. My chin and upper lip, which are hirsutism related, have lightened up considerably. In fact, my esthetician has stopped waxing my chin entirely! If that’s not a sign of improvement, I don’t know what is. I have looked into laser hair removal but I’m not sure it’s for me. The doctor warned me that women with hormonal issues may actually get more hair grow in hirsutism areas…which is not the prefered result. It may be good for arm pits and the bikini area…but for hirsutism spots, I’m sticking with waxing.

Anyone else have any tried and true cures?

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ness316
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 14:58:38

    Thank you so much for this information, I am really going to try this out. Thanks so much.

    • Caszie
      Jul 11, 2011 @ 16:11:55

      You’re very welcome. Actually, I’ve just tried a new method that has so far been one of the most effective: Laser Hair Removal. I tried it on my chin and neck (a place some have said can actually GAIN more hair after using a laser on it…if someone has a hormone imbalace) and I’ve really noticed a difference. The down side is the price…but if you’re on Groupon.com or one of those deal sites, Laser Spas often give deals.

  2. wophila
    Jul 17, 2011 @ 10:57:30

    Hi, so glad I came across your blog. I, too, have suffered from hirsutism from puberty (about 12 years now). The majority shows up on my belly, I have somewhat of a “treasure trail” but also have darker and mostly sporadic hairs on my cheeks, chin, upper lip, and feet as well. I am also part French so I inherited hairy arms, which I shave. Even tho I have unwanted hair in all these places I would still consider my hirsutism to be mild as you cannot really tell unless you look really closely, except my belly, I have shaved one too many times.

    Anyway, I corroborate what you said about the remedies and have a few to add myself. Maca is great for balancing hormones and I have used this in the past. The most effective results I have seen thus far have been wth Saw Palmetto. I’ve tried a few different kinds and the most success I’ve had is with Nature’s Way Saw Palmetto Standardized Extract taken 2x daily . I prefer organic everything but I’ve had more success with this than any other SP I’ve tried. It has significantly slowed my hair growth, and has made it much finer and softer.

    Spearmint tea is also great, as you said. I used to drink 3 cups of spearmint daily then got tired of it so I take it in tincture form now. I have had more success with these two herbs than anything else I’ve tried. For anyone else who is suffering from hirsutism I just want to tell you to be patient and stick with your chosen remedies, it takes a long time but it does work if you stick with it.

    As the author stated above, diet is very important. Try to cut out sugar as much as you can. Sugar, especially refined sugar does nothing for you but exacerbate the problem, I have proven this a few times over, unfortunately. Eat fresh, organic fruits and veggies and meats (if you can find them) as much as possible. Exercise as much as you can, we are all busy these days but even taking a walk for 30mins every other day can make a huge difference.

    • Caszie
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 08:23:58

      Thank you for your wonderfully thoughtful comment!

      I too have a mixture of “inherited” hair (my dad is German and I got his hairy arms, hands, and feet) and “hormone-related” hair. For me, the hair on my lower belly is the most obvious, but that is easy enough to hide or shave…although I too have shaved it one too many times.

      I’m thrilled to hear that Saw Palmetto worked for you. You are an example that natural remedies do actually work. Way to go!

  3. Trackback: Hirsutism Miracles « Beat the Syndrome
  4. Nora Peters
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 19:17:43

    does this actually work. i have pcos and i will honestly try anything that will work. i have tried so much already. haven’t eaten any carbs in years as was told this may me a cause.

    • Caszie
      Aug 23, 2011 @ 19:44:32

      Thanks for your comment.! For me, the best methods I’ve found for quick removal are laser hair removal and waxing. However, they don’t deal with the underlying symptoms.

      Since I wrote this post, I’ve learned that there were several items I was STILL eating that could unbalance hormones: yogurt, lactose-free cheese, oatmeal, and quinoa. I’m currently experimenting by staying off all grains and all dairy. This has helped my weight and my acne, but it’s hard to tell with hair growth. Hirsutism is such a pain in the ass because there are also genetics to consider.

      If hair growth is a problem for you, I recommend waxing or laser AND trying to tackle the underlying problem (hormone imbalance). However, if you want to make sure you’re balancing your hormones through food, everything you eat has to be “Clean”: pesticide-free, antibiotic-free, free-grain, grass-fed, etc.. I still have to switch over my fruits, veggies, and meats from “regular” to “Clean”. And then there’s cleaning products, hair products, lotion…the list goes on and on about things that can affect your hormones. The book “Master Your Metabolism” by Jillian Michaels gives some tips about other hormone imbalancing items in your home (http://amzn.to/oebn5M).

      Yes, there are lots of things to try. Someone else recommended Saw Palmetto. I don’t think that everything is going to work for everyone. But it doesn’t hurt to see what works for you. It just takes time to see results.

  5. JJSparkle
    Sep 26, 2011 @ 19:44:13

    Hello!

    I just read your blog and wanted to add my story. It is very comforting to know that other women are dealing with this as well. I have dealt with excessive body hair since puberty and thought that it was just in my genes since I come from quite a hairy family.
    However, recently an electrologist who was working on my facial hair, which isn’t too excessive, but abnormal–sparce, course hairs on my neck, chin and cheeks, told me to get my hormones tested, since I had been getting electrolysis for years. Money has always been an issue, but I had them tested–200 bucks, and found out that I was very high in estrogen and low in progesterone. Looking up stuff on the internet I found facial hair as a symptom of “estrogen dominence”.
    I too am going the natural route, have tried saw palemetto and spearmint in the past, but saw no results. I also eat a low sugar, organic diet, but still had bristly hairs all over my neck, and on the backs of my legs and buttocks–really not so great for self esteem! Shooooot!
    Anyway, I am consuting a naturopath who has me on adrenal support and supplements to reduce estrogen and boost progesterone. I feel like a new person. The hair on my head is thicker and harldy falls out at all in the shower. My facial hair has chilled out just a bit–about 10 percent less regrowth after electrolysis, but I have only been doing this a month and a half. However, now I am confident that new hair isn’t going to grow after electrolysis. I am also getting laser on the backs of my legs and butt and feel like it’s changed my life. I don’t care that I have spent my money on this. It is so worth it.

    Anyway, I think any woman suffering from abnormal hair growth should try the hormone test that I took. If you are interested in consulting the naturopath that I dealt with. I can give you her website. She does distance stuff–as she did with me.

    Best of luck beautiful ladies!

    • Caszie
      Sep 28, 2011 @ 21:54:47

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment, JJ!

      Even though it’s a pain in the derriere, it’s still great to know that we are not alone in this. Isn’t the genetic thing funny. I’ve got the arm hair of an ape…but so does my dad. Sooooo….what’s genetic and what isn’t? Well, PCOS symptoms can be “male-pattern hair growth” and arm hair technically isn’t “male-pattern”. It’s still technically a bitch.

      I’d love to hear how the natural method works for you. And I definitely agree with the laser thing: it’s incredibly that I don’t have to shave EVERY BLOODY DAY!!!

      Thanks for the info on the naturopath. Do you have her website handy?

    • Brittany
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 21:52:01

      I would love to get that website from you. I also suffer from PCOS and hirsutism. I’m currently on weight watchers and taking metformin, but I’d rather take natural meds any day.

    • tamyka
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 13:55:58

      Hey JJ!
      I hope all is well!
      I was just perusing the site and comments and wanted to reply to yours. I have been living with hirusitism since I was a teenager. And it is a pain in the ass! I’ve done electrolysis and loved it but didn’t stick with it…and now I give my self esteem a big boos, daily, with shaving.
      Anywho, I was interested in the naturtopath’s info and the hormone test that you took.
      Thanks for sharing your story!
      t.

  6. inpan
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 19:22:30

    Wow. I never thought for a second there was anyone suffering from the same symptoms as I am. Since I was a born, I had a head of hair. Literally…my face, my arms my legs, back..everything! The doctors did not that it was abnormal at all. I have suffered from what I thought was gentic hairiness since birth. It is so devestating. I have not been diganosed with hirsutism or pcos or anything else for that matter. I thought all my problems where seperate. I have not had my period in over 10 months ( i am 22 years old), i have an underactive thyroid,no weight gain or loss..even though I excersize like a crazy person and eat like a bird…im chubby but only in my belly…. ,and out of no where I have developped purple-ish strech marks on my stomach, my facial hair is out of control, in fact every inch of my body is covered with hair and is out of control. I have found a kind of solution for myself. Although it is time comsuming ( about 20 mins every 7 days) I use the ancient art of threading. It is all natural ( as it is done with only a piece of string) and it gets the hair straight from the root. I urge you all to go to youtube and search up a tutorial of threading (in fact I will be making a video this weekend) learn how to do it, and try it. All it will cost you is 20 minutes and a spool of all purpose thread. I am so happy and greatful that I have the man of my dreams supporting and marrying me., Believe me there are good men out there would see inner beauty. I wish you all the best of luck in all your present and future endeavours, I have you all to be greatful from because from reading all of the situations I have a sudden feeling of inner peace of not being alone. No one understands unless you have it. Thank you and best of luck.

    GOD GRANT ME THE SERENITY TO ACCEPT THE THINGS I CANNOT CHANGE. COURAGE TO CHANGE THE THINGS I CAN, AND WISDOM TO KNOW THE DIFFERENCE.

  7. Angel
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 16:26:23

    Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. I too have been suffering from hirutism since puberty and I know how painful and embarassing it is. I also suffer from PCOS along with it.

    I just got waxing done for my upper lips and chin today. The negative part is my skin is extra sensitive and cannot bear the heated wax. I got burns all over my upper lip and some part of chin area. Although the burns are paining…I am more scared to go for work tomorrow.

    The comments above made me feel comfortable and a feeling that I am not alone. I shall definately follow this methods of regular and appropriate diet alone with exercise.

    @inpan: Thanks for suggesting the threading method. My skin can no longer bear the wax burns and true, there are men out in the world who see inner beauty. Too happy you found your perfect man

    • CV Wilde
      Oct 25, 2012 @ 10:38:13

      Hi Angel,

      Thanks for your comments and so sorry for replying late! Life has taken over and I’ve put blogging on the back burner. You’re right – You are not alone! I hate waxing so much because it just makes my skin all red and splotchy. I can’t remember exactly but I think threading did the same. My skin is super senstive. @inpan is right – there are men out there who see inner beauty. I’ve got one myself:) But I don’t think its enough for him to just see me as beautiful. I have to believe it as well. And that part can be tough!

  8. Angel
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 16:29:17

    @Caszie: Thanks a lot for your blog and Yoga also helps in balancing the hormones. I shall try that along with medications, proper diet and exercise from tomorrow.

  9. Angel
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 10:40:04

    thanks cv wilde…

  10. lu
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 13:33:58

    spearmint tea does miracles, good luck

  11. OH.GOD.HELP.ME
    Feb 02, 2013 @ 23:58:02

    Man, im struggling so much with hair growth, especially since im in the prime of my teenage years. Sorta, im soon to be 18. Reading this article has made me consider going out there and changing my lifestyle. I might try waxing too. I tried shaving and the hair removal cremes like nair, i tried it on my stomach and man, i got razor bumps AND dark hairs on my stomach. Makes me want to cry. Not to mention the growth of hair between my chest. I hate having this, you suggest me waxing my stomach hairs, im not too fond of the happy trail..

  12. spvgoud
    Mar 24, 2013 @ 00:53:33

    my daughter is suffering from Hirsotism for the last three years. She has gone to laser treatment but it is not having complete results. Is it advisable for IP treatment

  13. lisandra balan
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 19:39:23

    Hi im 13 years old and i think i have that. im really insecure when it comes to my body i have hair on my back stomach hands arms feet .everywhere but u can hardly see it u have to get close. its thin. But its still there. its embarrassing!!! I guess u could say im pretty everyone tells me that i should be a model but the hair stops me from believeing it. im going to try to eat healthier and exercise. im medium sized so not fat or skinny thanks:))

  14. Hillary
    May 09, 2013 @ 22:44:05

    These do not help. I am 5’5″ 125 lbs and have hirsutism. There isn’t any way to lose as I am already small. I’ve always been small and never had a problem with my weight. This just was not helpful at all. Thanks for giving it a try. Every case is different.

  15. Mim
    May 16, 2013 @ 06:55:12

    Soy also contains androgens! Try other supplements.

    • CV Wilde
      May 19, 2013 @ 08:40:15

      Thank you Mim, and to everyone else who has commented! I’m currently doing more research on this information and it will need to be updated.

      Good luck everyone!

      Caszie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

